Well, Christmas is over.  Yes, people have stopped killing each other over the last action figure in the store for little Johnny.  Now, people are killing each other to return little Johnny’s action figure that was the last one in the store.  While the big box retailers remain a blood bath, these days after Christmas are a reminder that the year is almost over with.  What a crappy year it was.  But this post is not about the terrible year that was 2010.  Instead, I’m looking forward, not backward.  Upward, not forward.  And constantly twirling, twirling, twirling toward freedom.  Instead, I’ll be focusing on the new year, especially in regards to new years resolutions.  You see, New Years Day, a date randomly selected by some guy a long time ago in a galaxy far, far away, is a symbol for new beginnings.  Is there a such thing as old beginnings?  Anyway, many people come up with New Year’s resolutions as a way to have a fresh start.  However, most people make resolutions like “lose weight” or “make better grades” or “stop cheating on spouse a la Tiger Woods” that they generally have little motivation to, well, actually keep.  Thus, it is up to Rob of the Sky to tell you how to make a real New Year’s resolution.
Now, you might be thinking “Well, Rob of the Sky, what do you know about having the motivation to keep a New Year’s resolution.  After all, you can’t even keep up with your blog enough to update every hour on the hour.”  Well, you may be happy to know that I’ve kept my New Year’s resolution for the past 8 years or so.   Impressive, isn’t it?  Now, you might be wondering what my secret to keeping my resolution for all these years.  Well, my resolution for all these years was to not eat any hot sauce, and I have been able to keep this resolution because I don’t really like hot sauce.  You see, I realized that I could continue making high-aiming resolutions that I wasn’t going to keep, or I could make a low-aiming resolution that i could easily keep.  After all, if at first you don’t succeed, lower your expectations.  Mediocrity rules!  So yes, my advice to keeping you New Year’s resolution is to make one that you will probably keep anyway.  Another route you can take is the reverse New Year’s resolution.  Because in this country, you make resolution.  In Russia, resolution makes you.  Eh, that was lame.  Anyway, the reverse New Year’s resolution is where you make a resolution that is the opposite of your goal in hopes that you don’t keep you resolution (and thus keeping your goal).  For example, if you want to lose weight, you make a New Year’s resolution to gain weight.  Then, you fail to keep the resolution to gain weight, which means that you lose weight and thus have kept your original goal of losing weight.  Win.  I haven’t tried this idea, so I don’t know if it will work.  If you do decide to try it, let me know how it goes.  Until next time, remember that if you have a leg growing out of your head, you should contact a doctor immediately.  Have a Happy Easter!

